Welcome to the Police Review Commission
An Independent Civilian Review Agency

The PRC was created by Berkeley voters in 1973 to provide independent civilian oversight of the Berkeley Police Department. The PRC advises the City Council, Mayor, and City Manager on the policies, practices, and procedures of the BPD, and investigates complaints of police officer misconduct. More information about the PRC can be found at www.cityofberkeley.info/prc/.

 To reach the Berkeley Police Review Commission:

Call 510.981.4950 or email prc@cityofberkeley.info.

The Berkeley Police Review Commission (PRC) is an independent body appointed by the City Council. The PRC reviews Police Department policies, practices and procedures, and investigates citizen complaints against Police Department sworn personnel.

For additional information and to see the PRC general brochure, please click here.

If you are interested in becoming a Commissioner, click here for information and to download the application.


Police Review Commissioners and Appointing Officials

  Police Review Commissioner

 Appointing Official

Alison Bernstein

Councilmember Maxwell Anderson (3)

George Perezvelez (Chair)

Mayor Bates

 Terry Roberts

Councilmember Susan Wengraf (6)

George Lippman

Councilmember Jesse Arreguin (4)

Ari Yampolsky

Councilmember Laurie Capitelli (5)

Ayelet Waldman

Councilmember Linda Maio (1)

Kad Smith

Councilmember Lori Droste (8)

Jerry Javier

Councilmember Kriss Worthington (7)

Michael Sherman

Councilmember Darryl Moore (2)



Katherine J.  Lee - Police Review Commission Officer
Byron Norris - PRC Investigator
Maritza Martinez - Administrative Support