For Immediate Release
Press Contact: Tasha Tervalon-Norcome , Commission on the Status of Women, (510) 981-5347

Commission on the Status of Women

Berkeley, California (Friday, March 13, 2009) - To commemorate National Women's History Month, the Commission on the Status of Women each year recognizes and honors the efforts of extraordinary women who live, work or learn in Berkeley, and who have done outstanding work in the Berkeley community. This year, our twentieth anniversary year, the Commission is also honoring a past awardee, for her continued service to the community. Awardees were selected through a competitive nomination process and represent a wide range of achievements and contributions.

The event will be held on Wednesday, April 1, 2009, at the North Berkeley Senior Center, 1901 Hearst Street, at 6:00 pm. The event is open to the public and we encourage all Berkeley community members to join us in celebration of the achievements of this outstanding group of women.

This year the Commission will present awards to the following women for outstanding contributions to our community:

Christine Terry

Janice Small

Sharon Maldonado

Nancy K. D. Lemon

Natalie Leimkuhler

Ying Lee

Lupe Gallegos Diaz

Anna de Leon

Arlene Blum

Gene Bernardi

In addition, the Commission will honor the continues contributions of past awardee Ann Fagan Ginger.

If you have any questions, please contact Tasha Tervalon-Norcome at 981-5347 or