Special Meeting eAnnotated Agenda
April 29, 2010

 Printer-friendly PDF* agenda    


Click on the linked agenda item titles below for background materials/reports. Adopted Resolutions and Ordinances (second reading) are available via Records Online (http://www.CityofBerkeley.info/ContentDisplay.aspx?id=4222) as soon as they are finalized.


  • Resolutions and Ordinances are subject to amendment, rescission or repeal, or readoption in whole or in part. Additional research may be necessary to verify the completeness of the legislative history. To research the Berkeley Municipal Code, visit: http://www.CityofBerkeley.info/BMC 

  • These documents are presented in Adobe Acrobat PDF*, and will open in a new browser window. Some files may exceed 1MB in size. All items are available for review at the City Clerk Department, (510) 981-6900.

*To read PDF files, download a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader.  If you are unable to access .pdf documents online, please contact us via email (clerk@CityofBerkeley.info), telephone (510) 981-6900, or TDD (510) 981-6903 so that we can provide an alternate format.






7:00 P.M.

Longfellow Middle School - 1500 Derby Street (at Sacramento)
Berkeley, CA 94703

Tom Bates, Mayor


District 1 – Linda Maio

District 5 – Laurie Capitelli

District 2 – Darryl Moore

District 6 – Susan Wengraf

District 3 – Max Anderson

District 7 – Kriss Worthington

District 4 – Jesse Arreguin

District 8 – Gordon Wozniak

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call:  7:04 p.m Absent: Councilmember Anderson.

Public Comment – Items on this agenda only – 101 speakers.

Action Calendar:

1. Bus Rapid Transit Build Alternative (PDF)

Supplemental Agenda Material (PDF)

Communication from Bates, Maio, Capitelli (PDF)

From: City Manager
Recommendation: Adopt a Resolution forwarding a build alternative to AC Transit for study in its FEIS/R.
Financial Implications: See report
Contact: Dan Marks, Planning and Development, 981-7400

Action: M/S/C (Moore/Capitelli) to direct AC transit to consider the following local preferred build alternative for study in its Final Environmental Impact Study/Report.

Alternative B – Reduced Impact proposal (including Rapid Bus Plus) revised to reflect the following:

and to include the following additional features:

Also to be included if technically or financially feasible:

Vote: Ayes: Maio, Moore, Arreguin, Capitelli, Wengraf, Worthington, Wozniak, Bates.  Absent: Anderson. 

Action: M/S/C (Wozniak/Moore) to suspend the rules of procedure and extend the meeting to 11:30 p.m.

Vote: Ayes: Maio, Moore, Arreguin, Capitelli, Wengraf, Worthington, Wozniak, Bates.  Absent: Anderson.

Adjournment: 11:14 p.m.



Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

Item 1: Bus Rapid Transit Build Alternative

1.    Ignacio Dayrit (2)
2.    Gordon Wozniak, District 8 (3)
3.    Jonathan Evans
4.    Alan Tobey
5.    Wei-Ling Huber, on behalf of UNITE HERE Local 2850
6.    Doug Buckwald (8)
7.    Shirley Dean
8.    Barbara Gilbert
9.    Amrita Singhal
10. Joseph Stubbs
11. Mim Hawley
12. Roy Nakadegawa
13. Stuart Flashman
14. Brit Harvey
15. Joel Ramos
16. Kent Lewandowsk
17. Steve Schwartz
18. Charles Siegel, on behalf of Friends of Bus Rapid Transit (FBRT)
19. Steven Keller
20. Emunah Hauser
21. Michael Katz (2)
22. Phil Morton
23.  “Yes! Let’s Study BRT!” (7 form letters on file)
24. Tom Bates, Mayor; Linda Maio, District 1; and Laurie Capitelli, District 5

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

Item 1: Bus Rapid Transit Build Alternative

25. Unknown
26. Russell Andavall
27. Anna Field (2)
28. Kathryn Hetzner
29. Margaret Diamond
30. Peter Allen
31. Diana Dorinson
32. Marcy Greenhut